Skip to content

We’re BACK!

August 5, 2010

Ohmigod.

How long has it been? I don’t even want to think about it. But here I am, back in Houston and ready to tell you guys all about our wedding, from the very beginning! I’m so excited to be back and to be blogging again!

Where to start…I had been prepping for the France trip for a couple of weeks, just trying to remember to bring everything…from scissors to my ipod speaker. It was a bit stressful because I was also trying to finish all the odds and ends of the Houston wedding because I knew when we came back, we would be very tired and only have about three days before the rehearsal.

As we drove to the airport, I was already very tired and anxious from the weeks of prepping. I had bought so many wedding/honeymoon outfits, and I had even bought a brand new carry on bag for the occasion. At the last moment, I decided to wear my short white banana republic trench but ditched my jeans because I thought they might get uncomfortable as the trip went on. Instead I changed into my work out capri pants…which made for an interesting outfit…which Mr. Chick made a remark on as we waited in line to check our luggage. Being the over-anxious bride, I said:

“What do you mean?!”

Mr. Chick said “Oh, I just thought your outfit was funny! It’s cute! Don’t worry!”

Me: “You hate my outfit! Everything is going to go wrong! It’s a sign!!!”

This goes on, and by the time we get to the ticket counter, I was starting to tear up. The clerk took one look at my teary face and arm holding up the wedding dress and said:

“I can upgrade you to premier class!”

Sweeter words have not been uttered. Suddenly the clouds lifted and Mr. Chick said “See sweetie? Everything will be alright! And look there’s the McDonald’s! It’s your favorite!”

I knew I kept him around for a reason. 🙂

All photos courtesy of yours truly and family members and friends:

Here we are successfully on the plane:

Here we are playing with the fancy reading lights in premier class!

They gave us a bath kit which included tiny toothpaste. TINY TOOTHPASTE!

We flew from Houston to Paris, then flew together with our awesome photographer John Rozier of John Rozier Photography from Paris to Bordeaux. It took us a while to get the rental car from the Bordeaux airport, and some tricky navigation to reach the chateau in Barsac, but once we reached there, it was all worth it:

We took it pretty easy the first day. John fell asleep so Mr. Chick and i went exploring for food. We came across a charming sports bar, empty except for a couple of locals outside. The bartender kindly made us some of the best sandwiches I have ever had (baguette with butter and prosciutto) and we downed the icy beer which cooled us down from the slight heat wave they were having.

The next day everyone arrived, and we went into town to order a bouquet and for general fun!

Flowers found, after a lot of gesturing and helpful translation from Mr. Chick and my mom.

John, sis, Mr. Chick, and I being goofy:

John, Aunt Teeny, Mr. Chick, Me, Uncle Wes, and part of my sister and my mom’s heads:

Our chateau owners, Brigitte and Paul, were wonderful hosts who made us breakfast, lunch, and dinner everyday! Dinners were always 5 course meals, in which everyone had a choice of many different kinds of salads (smoked duck and foie gras salad, scallop salad,  cantaloupe balls soaked in Sauterne wine, shrimp cocktail, just to name a few), entrees consisted of pork tenderloin, fresh fish, or duck. This was followed by cheese plate, which was followed by dessert.

Next post: the France wedding!

Did you have a destination wedding? What was your travel experience?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2010 6:09 am

    Welcome back to blogoland!

Leave a Reply

