Skip to content

Blood Pressure…Rising

March 31, 2010

I hesitated writing this post. I fear that I may make myself more stressed. Then I remembered how good all you ladies out there are to me! So here goes:

Last weekend I woke up with a start. I dreamt about all the things I still have to do for our “totally chill, easy to plan wedding, now that we’re going to France.”

Riiiiiight.

I ran to the computer in my pajamas and created a “still have to do list.” YIPES.

I’m not kidding, ladies. Everytime I even open the document my blood pressure rises a couple of points, and I feel my throat tightening, my breaths shortened.

Here is the spreadsheet:

I know everything will be done soon, and thank god for our MOH, BMs, and GMs for helping us find resources and reminding me to do stuff. In addition, my museum friends and other friends have all been so helpful in trying to find me an artist to make my invitations (one plus side of working at a museum!) But still. To quote Cathy the comic strip:

(Image)

Even though it is incredibly nice of our friends to ask and make suggestions about the wedding, everytime someone innocently asks me about a detail about the wedding, I feel the vein in my forehead grow just a little bigger. Which, I know, I am natural stressball. People asking me about details either do it out of necessity or kindness (after all, what does it matter to them what I do? They’re just being sweet and nice) but the vein in my head whispers “Oh noooo I need to do that TOO!” Then it’s back to Cathy again.

Have any of you all had this same type of stress situation? Surely I’m not the only one…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Eugenia permalink
    April 7, 2010 7:34 am

    Well if I may say so from the seat of MOH, I think when people ask, at least this is the case for me, we aren’t asking if you’re done with something. We are wondering how we can help to lessen your stress! We don’t expect you to do it all on your own! So I think you should feel free to dump some of that on us! Until I saw your spreadsheet screenshot I had no idea you are looking for cake toppers and making ribbon belts. I can help you look for materials for the ribbon belts, etc. So take it easy and farm some stuff out to us!

  2. amychien permalink*
    April 7, 2010 1:38 pm

    You are so sweet! Yeah I know when people ask me they have the best of intentions but I just get stressed from it in any case. If you see any cute cake toppers send them my way. The ones I don’t like are the round wooden head figures and stupid animal ones.

Leave a Reply

