Skip to content

THE dress!

December 11, 2009

Hi ladies!

First of all, let me apologize for not blogging for so long! There has been a lot of drama in my life in the past three weeks (work, wedding, etc) but I am slowly seeing the light at the end of the tunnel. Well, a glimmer anyway. The good news is, I found a dress!! Hooray! As you might remember from this post, the last “decision” I had made was to have the Monique Lhuillier dress custom made for me at a cheaper price. Since my parents live in Taiwan, they were going to see if they could have it made there. They found a tailor who was going to make it for me, but then backed out because she didn’t want to make the bust without me being there. So I stalked Fashionbride’s blog for a couple of weeks and looked through JCrew’s wedding dresses (again). Then last week I heard from a friend that Mia Couture, one of the first stores I went to, was having a sample sale! I first went to Mia Couture back in February of this year with MOH Sis and BM Lil J. I love the store, and my sales lady, Emily, was everything you can hope for: friendly, understanding, with impeccable taste. However, at the time, I couldn’t afford the two dresses I loved (hey, a girl’s allowed to have expensive taste! ;)) so I left the store empty-handed. Here are the two dresses I picked out back in February:

(Mr. Chick: STOP READING HERE!)

Judd Waddell, my first love:

Reem Acra, my second love:

Now as I look at the Reem Acra dress, I am glad I didn’t get it. Although the material was beautiful and the train was dreamy, the top is a bit mummy like and not entirely flattering.

On Saturday, Sarah, Javier, and I walked into the beautiful new location of Mia Couture. Emily remembered me right away and off we went into the sample racks. I tried on about six dresses and thought this one was a real contender:

I love the simple lines, and the cut was very flattering, but I just didn’t feel like it was THE one.

Now, time for the real thing.

Emily brilliantly pulled out a Judd Waddell (swoon) dress that I missed and asked if I wanted to try it on. On the hanger, it looked a little too haute couture to me, but I agreed to try it on anyway. If there’s one thing I learned from Say Yes to the Dress, it’s to always trust the sales person’s pick. I can’t count the times when the bride ended up buying something the sales person picked even though it was not anything they would ever pick for themselves.

Drum roll please!

Please ignore the crazy hair.

Sash comes with! It’s a beautiful crystal and pearl sash that Emily kindly threw in with the dress! How awesome is that?

I’m so happy!

Woo train!

Here are the awesome things about this dress:

1. It is awesome. High five!

2. It has lots and lots of lace on it.

3. It is nice and light so I will be able to dance all night in it!

4. Even though it is a size 10 (wedding size) and I’m a size 0 (street size), it was only about an inch or 2 bigger on me, so it would be easy to alter.

5. They had just gotten the sample in the store not too long ago, and hardly anyone had tried it on, so there are no stains or tears on it at all! It looks and smells brand new! (Secret: I had a dream that night that I found a tear AND a stain on it, and I had to get up to check to see if the dream was true—it was not true. I am officially crazy. But we knew that already!)

6. I love that I ended up buying a dress at the store I liked the best, and from the same designer I first fell in love with!

So, no more looking for me. This is THE dress (I can already hear MOH laugh at me since I think I’ve said that, oh, about five times. Oops!)

Seriously though. It is done. Check! Woo!

How did you feel when you found THE dress?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

