Skip to content

Veils and Tiaras, Oh My!

October 4, 2009

Now that we finally have a venue (well, 95% certain), I feel like I can move on with planning! Phew!

My awesome fashionista friend and fellow bride S sent me Sara Gabriel‘s website full of unique and beautiful veils. These are some of my favorites:

All images below, unless otherwise noted, are courtesy of Sara Gabriel.

The Audrey veil:

Audrey_Side

The Marcelle:

Marcelle_Back_1603

Kind of a fun detail to have your veil monogrammed! I’ve never thought of doing that before. Since Mr. Chick and I both have first names that start with A, it would be doubly meaningful! Or would it look tacky? What do you guys think?

The Rita:

Rita_Detail1

I always knew I wanted lace on my veil, but in my vision the lace was usually on the bottom. Now that I’ve seen this, I love the look of the lace on top!

Mamma Chick, master seamstress, is making my veil, and we decided that I want a one-piece veil. Something like this:

03a

(Thanks to Fashion Bride for this inspiration photo!)

But with a much lighter lace trim. Isn’t it a beauty?

I also would like to get a very simple hair piece that would give the veil a little sparkle. 99% sure I will get this:

ah2a

$36 from Tiara Town, free shipping in the US!

I’m not a tiara kind of girl (I know, I know, most girls say this when they do decide to wear a tiara) but I feel like this one is not so much a tiara as a head band…anyway that’s what I’m telling myself! AND it’s a replica of the one Audrey Hepburn wore (in which movie? Anyone know?) and y’all know how I feel about Ms. Hepburn!

audrey2

(Source)

I found this tiara in a post from Weddingbee a long time ago, but I cannot for the life of me find it again! If anyone knows, please tell me so I can credit the bee who posted this!

Do you guys think I should wait to buy a dress before buying the tiara? (I bought a dress from Kleinfeld back in February, but unfortunately I have decided it is not THE dress and today I put it up for sale on Weddingbee! Check it out here. Now I am looking to either have my dress custom made or buy a new dress altogether.) I think yes, but I’m also paranoid that they will stop selling it at some point. It’s only $36…should I?

How did you decide on your veil and hairpiece?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

