Skip to content

I think, I THINK, We MIGHT have a Venue!

September 28, 2009

You may remember our adventures in trying to find a venue in this post and this post and this post . At first, we thought (ok really I thought) I would want an indoor wedding because I’m not a very outdoorsy kind of gal. But after seeing all the beautiful pictures of farm/vineyard/barn weddings (and comparing the budget spreadsheets for indoor vs. outdoor weddings), we’ve decided on having a farm wedding! After looking at these pictures, it just suddenly clicked that farm weddings suited both Mr. Chick and my budget and tastes!

The two places we are considering are Matt Family Orchards in Tomball, Texas and Cielitos Ranch in Pattison, Texas. You can see my post about Matt Family Orchards here. We loved Cielitos Ranch, but unfortunately the owner decided last week that since her daughter (who is an awesome Weddingbee reader!) is also getting married at the ranch at around the same time, it would be too much to handle. I totally understand and I would hate to bring more stress to someone’s life (god knows I understand the stress of weddings!).

Last Wednesday Mr. Chick and I went over to our friend M’s house to watch Glee. I was complaining about how it was impossible to find a cool affordable venue when M asked me what we were looking for. As it turns out, her family owns a house and seven acres of land in Conroe, Texas! It sounded exactly like what we were looking for so we went on Saturday morning to check it out! We really love the house on the lake and the charming land about half a mile down the road from the house. We were thinking of having the ceremony in their backyard on the lake, then moving down to the property (which their family calls “the shop.”) for the reception. M’s family owns a Mercedes restoration/repair shop, so there are two warehouses on their Conroe property where they store cool vintage Mercedes! How awesome is that?

We haven’t worked out the details yet, so I am not 100% sure that we will marry here, and I don’t want to get my hopes up (I learned that the hard way last time!) but I was so excited that I had to ask M if it was ok for me to post these right away! And being the godsend that she is, she said yes!!

Another awesome part: M’s mom owns a vintage white Mercedes that she said we can use to arrive at the reception! Hello answer to all my problems!!

So, below I’ve posted images of the property as “before” and inspirational images as what I hope the space will look like “after.” M’s dad clears the land a couple of times a year, so right now there are some leaves and a dead tree trunk that need to be removed. M was also kind enough to assure us that the land will be mowed and weeded before the wedding. THANK YOU M AND FAMILY!!!

p.s. Before = pictures from M’s property. After = inspirational pictures from other weddings I’ve gathered.

Ceremony:

Before:

DSCN1858

DSCN1861

DSCN1862

After:

IN-Photography-3

(Source)

Maybe something like this in the driveway leading to the backyard? (From This Young House)

wedding-driveway-13

(Source)

Reception:

Before:

DSCN1878

After:

wedding-polaroids

(Source)

film-wedding-images

(Source)

Before:

DSCN1867

After:

theyoungrens_34

(source)

Before:

DSCN1868

After:

wedding-dusk-26

wedding-photostrip-18

(Source)

Before:

DSCN1865

After:

backyard-wedding-reception11

(Source)

Before:

DSCN1870

After:

wedding-pie-ideas

(Source)

Before:

DSCN1872

After:

wedding-plate-ideas

(Source)

theyoungrens_44

(source)

Have you had any venue drama so far? What are the major projects you are doing for your outdoor wedding?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2009 8:43 pm

    Exciting! Got any pictures of “the shop” where you will have your reception?

  2. amychien permalink*
    September 28, 2009 8:46 pm

    oh the reception is on the field. We’ll rent floors and a tent and tables etc. “The Shop” is what M’s family calls the property, not the warehouse.

Leave a Reply

