Skip to content

Mr. Chick’s Suit: Trial One

September 16, 2009

Thanks to awesome readers from this post, Mr. Chick and I had more of an idea of what kind of suit and which designer he could try. We went to Brooks Brothers to try on the Black Fleece line, Burberry, and Saks 5th Avenue. Just to try on, of course! I’m a smart shopper (mostly) so I want to wait for sales/coupons, maybe around Christmas time…

First we went to Brooks Brothers, of course.

Mr. Chick tried on a light gray suit:

05

04

With his signature flip flops, of course. Don’t worry, he’s not wearing them to the wedding. I hope.

Even though of course I think Mr. Chick looks very handsome in this suit, something about the fit of the shoulders is weird to me. We chose the Black Fleece line because he is more slender built, but I guess his shoulders a bit bigger than I thought! He has been working out a lot at the gym for the last couple of months. Anyway, I think it should look something more like this:

GOSSIP GIRLGOSSIP GIRLGOSSIP GIRL

Images courtesy of CW

Ok. so I’ve cropped out Joanna Garcia in two of these pictures (she annoys me, I don’t know why!) and it probably wasn’t necessary to post three pictures of Nate to get the idea, but what is a gossip girl to do?

Next he tried on a gray pin striped suit in the same style, a la Roger Sterling:

03

01

Again, very nice, but I think the shoulders need to be sharper looking.

When we were about to leave, I asked Mr. Chick ever so casually (yeah right), if he would just put on the light khaki suit jacket, you know, just for kicks. He obliged begrudgingly:

DSCN1666

Here he is, smiling sheepishly because he realizes that he looks damn good in it despite his previous protests against wearing light color suits. That’s right ladies—we are always right!

I believe these were his precise words: “Wow! I look…GOOD!”

Now strutting his newfound realization:

013

And then I ask with a triumphant smile: “Want to try on the matching pants?” Him: “*sigh* Yes.”

02

012

08

011

He loved it!! AHA! Ahahahhaha!!! I knew light colors would look great on him!

But enough about me. Back to more suits. After Brooks Brothers, we went to Burberry just to see some other options:

010

09

I like the cut of this suit a lot more, but according to Burberry lady, they don’t have it in any other colors, nor are they planning on making it in any colors. Hurummph.

And then we went to Saks to try on some Dolce Gabbana suits (ballah!):

07

06

I like the cut but the pockets look odd to me.

Does anyone have any suggestions on where I can get a Burberry cut in a light khaki / off white color?

How did you and your guy pick out his suit? Did you have any say in what he picked?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2009 3:56 pm

    agreed with you! the Burberry fits best on him! but for the color, either the light khaki or the grey.

  2. September 17, 2009 1:26 am

    I love the first light grey suit but i CANNOT get over those damn flip flops! Didn’t these fancy stores have any shoes?!

Leave a Reply

