Skip to content

Aaron + Amy + Audrey

August 23, 2009

I’m not ashamed to say I have an unhealthy obsession with all things vintage. Here are a couple of facts you might not know about me:

1. My mom’s side of the family love old movies. I used to watch old Danny Kaye, Bob Hope, and Peter O’Toole movies with my aunt #5 (that’s how we identify relatives in Taiwan).

2. When I was filling in my college roommate application, under “Who would you have a torrid affaire with?” I answered Cary Grant, Gregory Peck, or Peter O’Toole. It was not brought to my attention until years later when my friend Brendan said “What seventeen year old writes that?!”

3. In high school, I only listened to the 1930s-60s big band/classic music station.

4. I obsessively watched AMC back in the day when they used to play Rita Hayworth and Fred Astaire movies, not the Harrison Ford movies they do now. I occasionally took breaks and watched Supermarket Sweep.

5. I am completely obsessed with all things Audrey Hepburn. My parents have said that I look like her, but I think they might be just a teeny bit biased.

Number 5 leads us nicely into this post. My friend Synthia, who is also getting married, sent me this link, which led me to another post entitled Ode to Audrey. Unless otherwise stated, all images courtesy of The Audrey Hepburn Library:

audrey-hepburn-bride-2

I am far too snarky to pull off the roses on my head and the poufy sleeves. Audrey, on the other hand, has the childlike innocence and beauty to do so.

audrey-hepburn-bride-3

audrey-hepburn-bride-4

You know, I found a dress similar to this that I would totally wear if we were getting married in Italy:

img316594a558b8dc3dbeimg27704a558bb07e63d

$595 from Dolly Couture. Really not a bad price for a wedding dress. Can be modified to have straps or 3/4 sleeves.

audrey-hepburn-bride-6

Stunning. Again, cannot pull off. But would be perfect for a winter wedding, no?

sabrina54pg1
(Source)

The dress below kind of reminds me of my rehearsal dress #2. It’s a bit longer, but same idea. I knew there was a reason I love that dress! I believe this dress was from Breakfast at Tiffany’s, when Audrey went out on a date with the South American millionaire, only to come home to a telegram informing her of her brother’s death.

Audrey-Hepburn-Poster-Card-C10204655

(Source)

Ah yes. Here it is in color:

abc_hepburn_dress_070531_ms

(Source)

Normally the pink tiara would not work. But here it really does.

I love her hair here. I’m not sure if it would be too casual for a wedding, but I am going to try to do this tomorrow for work. I don’t know how she does it, but she is just effortlessly stunning.

japaneseclippings0026

I would feel like a fool putting on a tiara and a giant diamond necklace, and this look is definitely not vintage/rustic chic. But this picture makes me really really want to copy the look:

look10-21-52pg1

I knew Mr. Chick was the one for me when last May, before going to Rome, he rented “Roman Holiday” and made it a date to watch the movie with me. Someone who not only puts up with my obsession but fosters it is definitely a keeper!

I also adore gloves. I wish they were still part of everyday outfits. I get to wear white gloves at my job sometimes, and I sit at my desk pretending I’m Doris Day while I handle transparencies…

Jacqueline-Kennedy-Hammersmith-Farm

(Source)

hepburn_kelly

(Source)

One more thing. I also love Grace Kelly. Not as much as I love Audrey but the lace on her wedding dress makes me swoon:

grace-kelly-bride-7904401

(Source)

prince-rainier-and-grace-kelly

(Source)

I am leaning towards a lot of lace in my dress. It’s just so old fashioned and beautiful.

Now if only someone on Mad Men would get married so I can copy all of their styles!

Are you inspired by vintage motifs? How are you incorporating them into your wedding?

*Update: I just caught the second episode of this season’s Mad Men—looks like Margaret Sterling’s wedding is coming up! Yay!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2009 6:49 pm

    I love your writing in this post – it cracked me up, and I love the vintage photos. You are right, in these modern times i would have felt like a fool with roses on my head too, but i wish it weren’t so!

  2. amychien permalink*
    August 25, 2009 7:17 pm

    Thank you! You’re too kind!

  3. September 3, 2009 8:39 pm

    This is such an inspiring, inspiring post! Also from Vintage Glam, you probably have seen these too, but just in case:
    http://vintageglamblog.com/2009/08/a-roman-holiday-engagement-session

  4. amychien permalink*
    September 3, 2009 9:35 pm

    Awesome! I love this blog! I did not know about it so this is very exciting. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

