Skip to content

More Cupcake Holders News

July 24, 2009

Mama Chang and I were discussing how to make the cupcake holders this morning, so I did a little research. Here’s what I came up with:

We can buy these paper ribbons and somehow affix them to the bottom. Hot glue? Spray glue? I think spray glue would look neater and it would stay better as well. We could cut out two circles for the bottom and sandwich the paper ribbon between the circles. I will experiment and take pictures!
The Etsy Shop of A Bohemian Market have these great paper ribbons that come in white. Unfortunately, their store is on vacation right now so I couldn’t get a picture of the exact ribbon I want. Thanks to Carolyn, I was able to get a couple of pictures in other colors so you can get an idea!

il_fullxfull.54788036

il_fullxfull.76976941

1 roll of 12 yards for $4.00.

Alternatively, we can get these awesome doiles and somehow shape them into cupcake holders. What do you guys think? How would that work?

il_430xN.81057709

From the Etsy Shop of BROOKLYNrehab

8 doilies for $10, can select 4″ or 6″ in diameter. A bit pricey. I really love the butterfly ones, maybe I can think of something else to use them for, another project where I won’t need 100+ of them? Again, throw your ideas my way!

Or we could just go plain doilies. I found these on Anderson’s Giant Party Store. 48 4″ doilies for $2.38! Now that’s more of my price range! I do wonder about the quality…

8114004

If we decide to forego the whole lace/doily DIY cupcake holders, we could always buy some premade ones that are cheaper than the ones I posted before. Like these adorable ones from the Etsy shop of Cake With Love. I’ve seen many similar cupcake holders at FIT, an awesome Japanese household store here in Houston. All images below courtesy of Cake With Love:

il_430xN.78485835

These would go well with the flower lights!

Or perhaps these?

il_430xN.79539710

We could keep it simple. These are a bit more chic than regular white holders you get at the grocery store:

il_430xN.78175749

I like the scalloped edges and the vellum transparency.

If I go with something simple, I could get some of these adorable picks and stick them in the cupcakes! Can you imagine, white cupcake holders with white frosting, with a pop of color that says “Love?” Fab!

il_430xN.69740061

I’m not a huge fan of the glitter in those pics. If you find any cute picks, you know what to do—send them my way!

I also like these, but I have no idea what to put in it:

il_430xN.79282058

What do you guys think? Mama Chang? Any opinions?

How are you blinging out your cupcakes?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. chino permalink
    July 27, 2009 7:17 pm

    We can just buy the plain doilies and punch the butterfly pattern (no ants, please). It’s not hard to do. But then, the butterfly pattern may be hard to be noticed because they will show at the bottom of cake holder.

  2. August 4, 2009 7:29 pm

    I like the idea of the ribbons best – I think they will look the most prominent and will be easiest to make! How high do you want the ribbons to go above the actual cake? I think if the ribbons are high enough you can just wrap the ribbon around the cake?

    About the doilies – while I like the pattern, I agree with Mama Chang: won’t the butterfly be on the bottom of the cupcake and no one will be able to see?

  3. amychien permalink*
    August 6, 2009 3:04 pm

    Not sure about the height of the ribbons. I will leave it all up to mom!
    What other project can I use the butterfly doilies for so they can be seen?

Leave a Reply

