Skip to content

Venue Ideas

July 6, 2009

So, back in…when was it, March? When my parents came to visit, we went to the Houston Heritage Society to check out their event places. I dreamt of getting married at the St. John Chapel, a quaint little chapel where you can ring the bell as you exit, and having a reception on Conally Plaza, the outdoor space next to the chapel with lovely, big oak trees:

I love the juxtaposition of the historical chapel with the ultra modern downtown skyline.

I love the juxtaposition of the historical chapel with the ultra modern downtown skyline.

But they only have the following available dates:

10/31/09, 11/28/09. 12/19/09. 12/26, 09, then it skips to june 2010. All the nice Spring months are taken by city festivals. Boo.

And it would cost an extra $1000 to get married at the chapel for a 30 minute ceremony. I don’t love it $1000 much. Ok I do but I really do not have that kind of money to throw around.

So now I am (I mean, we are) branching out to outside of Houston. I would love a barn/vineyard type feel. Something like this, perhaps?

100lc_jendan3b1

The decorating ideas I have would fit much better in this type of setting, I fear. See complete article on this wedding here.

Any other ideas? Throw them at me!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

